Council Members

WPRC Council

The Winnipeg Poverty Reduction Council was established by, and has operated as an initiative of, United Way of Winnipeg since 2007. The WPRC is a multi-sector forum of 30 to 40 community leaders from business, labour, the non-profit sector, education and three levels of government. Fundamental to the WPRC is the belief that Winnipeg is rich in dedicated people and programs, but a greater impact is possible if we do more to connect, align and perhaps even redesign some of our key systems and structures.

The WPRC convenes regularly throughout the year. A WPRC Steering Committee – comprised of 12 Council members – meets monthly (and more often as required) to further the work of the Council.

Steering Committee

Ron Brown

Boys and Girls Clubs of Winnipeg (co-chair)

Dina Juras

Government of Canada

Susan Lewis

WPRC Founding Member

Marilyn McLaren

Private Sector Representative

Jan Sanderson

Red River College (co-chair)

Connie Walker

United Way Winnipeg

Dave Wardrop

City of Winnipeg

Council Members

Annetta Armstrong

Native Women's Transition Centre

Staff Sergeant Bob Chrismas

Winnipeg Police Service

Pauline Clarke

Winnipeg School Division

Jorge Fernandez

Immigrant Centre

Marti Ford

Acting Superintendent, Frontier School Division

Sherri Helgason

Canadian Human Rights Commission

Ray Karasevich

President and CEO. Manitoba Institute of Trades and Technology

Kate Kehler

Social Planning Council of Winnipeg

Edward Kennedy

The North West Company, WPRC Founding Member

Kathy Knudsen

United Way Winnipeg

Daniel Lussier

Catholic Health Corporation of Manitoba

Hannah Moffatt

Winnipeg Regional Health Authority

John Neufeld

The Meeting Place Fellowship Inc.

Sandra Oakley


Dr. Brian Postl

Faculty of Medicine, University of Manitoba, WPRC Founding Member

Kimberley Puhach

Manitoba Institute of Trades and Technology

Loren Remillard

President & CEO, The Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce

Carinna Rosales

SEED Winnipeg

Chief Danny Smyth

Winnipeg Police Service